Gloucestershire regions

1-glosmapGloucestershire is divided into three distinct regions, The Cotswolds, The Severn Vale and the Royal Forest of Dean.

It has been said that Gloucestershire has the most diverse geology of all the English counties, which is why it can offer such a wide range of landscape, nature, heritage and attractions.

1-map-cotsThe Cotswolds & The Cotswold Escarpment

Designated an area of “Outstanding Natural Beauty”, the Cotswolds, where dry-stone walls cross a landscape of rolling hills and hidden valleys, and the Cotswold Escarpment, where stunning views out over the Severn Vale & the Golden Valley meet the eye at every turn. Ancient churches dominate the honey coloured market towns and picturesque villages of the Cotswolds, whose rich architecture is a legacy of former wool wealth. ‘The Cotswolds was made prosperous on the back of the sheep.                                                               Cheltenham, Oxford, Gloucester, Bath.

1-map-sevThe Severn Vale

The river Severn meets the Avon at the medieval town of Tewkesbury. It follows its course through the floodplain landscape of orchards, meadows and traditional half-timbered villages. Past Gloucester and Cheltenham the river widens and snakes on to Slimbridge and Berkeley Castle.

1-map-deanRoyal Forest of Dean

24,000 acres of ancient forest create a magical setting for walking or touring. Many artists and potters choose to live here, often drawing their inspiration from the industrial heritage of the area. Newent, Coleford, Cinderford, Ross on Wye.